Foundation Year and Pre-Master’s Programmes in Ireland: January 2027
Updated on Written by Amit SouravReviewed by Ashmita Agarwal
Applications for January 2027 are open. Popular courses can close once full, so apply early. Your AdmitVerse counsellor will confirm the current timeline for your course.
Do foundation and pre-master’s programmes in Ireland give Stamp 1G?
Every one of the foundation and pre-master’s programs, with fees in ₹
Looking for a foundation year or a pre-master’s programme in Ireland with a January start? Every pathway on our January 2027 list is below, with fees in ₹. These prepare you for a degree; they are not degrees themselves.
These are pathways only. A foundation or pre-master’s programme does NOT give Stamp 1G stay-back; only the degree you progress to afterwards can. Budget for the pathway year plus the full degree.
5 of 5 programs · 5 open
| Program | Institution | NFQ level | Fee | Duration | Intakes | Deposit | App fee | January |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Foundation Programme | Galway Business School | Pathway: no Stamp 1G | €9,000≈ ₹9.9 lakh | 12 months | Sep, Jan | Full fee | Waived | Open |
| Pre-Master Programme | Galway Business School | Pathway: no Stamp 1G | €9,000≈ ₹9.9 lakh | 12 months | Sep, Jan | Full fee | Waived | Open |
| International Foundation Year Programme | TU Dublin | Pathway: no Stamp 1G | €12,500≈ ₹13.8 lakh | 12 months | Sep, Jan | 50% of fee (€6,250) | €50 | Open |
| International Foundation Programme (Business & Social Sciences stream) | On Campus Ireland | Pathway: no Stamp 1G | €16,330≈ ₹18.0 lakh | Confirm | Sep, Jan | Not stated (ask your counsellor) | Waived | Open |
| International Foundation Programme (Engineering & Science stream) | On Campus Ireland | Pathway: no Stamp 1G | €16,330≈ ₹18.0 lakh | Confirm | Sep, Jan | Not stated (ask your counsellor) | Waived | Open |
₹ figures use €1 = ₹110 (September 2026 mid-market rate). Your bank’s rate on the day you pay will differ. Fees are as quoted for the January 2027 intake. Confirm on the official course page before paying.
Open programs ranked by list fee
No scholarship on this list has a confirmed official name and criteria yet, so only list fees are shown.
| # | Program | Institution | Starts | NFQ level · stay-back | List fee |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Foundation Programme | Galway Business School | January | Pathway: no Stamp 1G | €9,000≈ ₹9.9 lakh |
| 2 | Pre-Master Programme | Galway Business School | January | Pathway: no Stamp 1G | €9,000≈ ₹9.9 lakh |
| 3 | International Foundation Year Programme | TU Dublin | January | Pathway: no Stamp 1G | €12,500≈ ₹13.8 lakh |
| 4 | International Foundation Programme (Business & Social Sciences stream) | On Campus Ireland | January | Pathway: no Stamp 1G | €16,330≈ ₹18.0 lakh |
| 5 | International Foundation Programme (Engineering & Science stream) | On Campus Ireland | January | Pathway: no Stamp 1G | €16,330≈ ₹18.0 lakh |
Job-market reality check
Mixed: depends on the role
- A pathway adds a year of fees and living costs before your degree even starts, and it gives no stay-back of its own.
- It is worth it when your marks or English fall just short of direct entry and the pathway guarantees, or strongly supports, progression to a named degree. Confirm the progression terms in writing.
- If you qualify for direct entry, skip the pathway: a one-year master’s with up to two years of Stamp 1G is usually better value.
Full course guide
Foundation year in Ireland: careers, salaries and September intakes. Coming soon.
Starting in January? Every open one of the foundation and pre-master’s programs is on this page.
From shortlist to arrival
Deposit, funds and the visa
What to pay, and when, for a January 2027 start.
- 1Shortlist and apply
- 2Accept and pay
- 3Show your funds
- 4File the visa
- 5Arrive and register
Not ready for January? Griffith and Independent College start in February, many DBS programs have an April intake, and otherwise there is September 2027.
Scholarships and work rights
Verified scholarships
Possible net fee only if you are eligible; never guaranteed.
Government of Ireland International Education Scholarship
Master’s and PhD applicants; separate annual HEA application, 60 awards
NCI Masters Academic Merit Scholarship
Automatic for NCI master’s applicants, by degree percentage, if eligible
DCU Faculty of Engineering & Computing International Scholarship
Eligible DCU engineering and computing master’s, if eligible
Work rights
20 hrs a week in term, 40 in the holidays, on Stamp 2
A pathway gives no Stamp 1G. Stay-back comes from the degree you progress to afterwards.
Foundation & pre-master’s in January: FAQs
What students ask us about foundation and pre-master’s programs in Ireland.
Still have questions?
Our counsellors are just a call away — get clear, honest answers.
Ireland ranked 5th of 163 countries in the Global Peace Index 2026, and violent crime is low overall. Be aware, though: in summer 2025 there was a rise in reported racially motivated attacks on Indians, and the Indian Embassy advised avoiding deserted areas at odd hours. Take ordinary city precautions.
Talk to an expert, free
Personalized guidance from counsellors who've worked with 500+ students.
- A personalized university shortlist
- SOP, application & visa guidance
- Loan & scholarship options
- A reply within 24 hours
Prefer meeting in person? Visit our Faridabad office →
Start your journey
Fill this in — we'll reach out within 24 hours.